Our Leadership

Governance/Board of Trustees

Western Health's Board of Trustees work closely with the President and Chief Executive Officer, who is responsible for the leadership of staff, physicians, and other stakeholders who together deliver essential health and community services to people living in the Western region, and Newfoundland and Labrador.

Western Health is governed by a maximum of an 18 member Board appointed by the Minister of Health and Community Services, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador.

The four Regional Health Authorities – Eastern Health, Central Health, Western Health, and Labrador-Grenfell Health – hosted a two-day conference “Leading Change: Building On Our Vision For Healthy Communities” in Gander, November 2019. Using input collected at the conference, the RHA Board Chairs reconvened to develop a series of recommendations to support stronger Governance and Population in Newfoundland and Labrador (See Leading Change Summary here).


Our Trustees

Contact the Board of Trustees

Senior Executive

The Interim Chief Executive Officer of Western Health is Ms. Michelle House. The CEO is appointed by the Western Health Board of Trustees to achieve the goals and objectives set by the Board.

The Senior Executive reports directly to the CEO and provides overall direction to key areas of the organization.

Western Health’s Senior Executive is:

See Organizational Chart here

For more information about the Board of Trustees or Senior Executive, please contact:

Caroline Wall, Executive Secretary, Western Health at 709-784-5245.
Corporate Office,  1 Brookfield Avenue, Corner Brook, NL, A2H 6J7

Physician Leadership

Dr. Duncan Passmoor, Regional Chief of Perioperative Medicine
Dr. Elmarie Potgieter, Regional Chief of Pathology 
Dr. Dale Skanes, Regional Chief of Emergency
Dr. Brendan Lewis, Chief of Staff – Western Memorial Regional Hospital
Dr. Alan McComiskey, Chief of Staff – Sir Thomas Roddick Hospital 
Dr. Bob Cook, Regional Chief of Medicinal Imaging
Dr. Stephen Murphy, Regional Chief of Internal Medicine
Dr. Mark Smallwood, Regional Chief of Family Practice
Dr. Yuri Power, Regional Chief of Psychiatry
Dr. Tricia Feener, Regional Chief of Women and Children's Health 
Dr. Dave Thomas, Chief of Staff – Rural South
Dr. Scott MacKenzie, Regional Chief of Surgery