Healthy Living and Communities

The majority of people experience most of their health and community services in the community, receiving care from family doctors, nurses, physiotherapists, pharmacists, dentists and other health care professionals. This network of community-based health care is known as the primary health care system and this is where most people seek advice for staying healthy and receive treatment for their health needs.

A strong primary health care system supports people and communities to be healthy, builds partnerships and enables people to receive the right type of care when and where it is needed most and over time, reducing demand for hospital-based care.   But with an aging population, an increasing prevalence of chronic disease and pressure on health and community services funding, Western Health is working with its communities to ensure that we are working together to meet the health needs of the people in our region.



There are seven Primary Health Care areas within the region. To learn more about each of these team areas please click on the links below:

-  Port Saunders Area

-  Bonne Bay Area

-  Deer Lake/White Bay Area

-  Corner Brook/Bay of Islands Area

-  Stephenville/Bay St. George Area

-  Port aux Basques Area

-  Burgeo/Ramea Area